By Jeremy Russell

A description of the eight places of significance in the Buddha's life

Topics: Holy Objects
The Eight Places of Buddhist Pilgrimage •
Introduction •
Lumbini—birthplace of the Buddha •
Bodhgaya—site of Buddha's enlightenment •
Sarnath—first turning of the Wheel of Dharma •
Rajgir—second turning of the Wheel of Dharma •
Shravasti—teachings in the Jetavana Grove •
Sankashya—where Lord Buddha descended from Tushita Heaven •
Nalanda—site of the great monastic university •
Kushinagar—where Buddha entered mahaparinirvana •
Conclusion and Books Consulted •