By Lama Thubten Yeshe, Kyabje Lama Zopa Rinpoche in UK

This series presents chapters from the LYWA book Freedom Through Understanding in a format that includes written teachings enhanced by audio, video and images.

Freedom Through Understanding Multimedia: About the Series •
Making the Most of Your Life •
How to Meditate •
The Importance of Motivation •
LYWA Multimedia: Making Life Meaningful •
The Shortcomings of Attachment •
Giving and Taking on the Breath •
The Best Answers Come Through Meditation •
By Lama Thubten Yeshe, Kyabje Lama Zopa Rinpoche in UK September 1975

 This book covers the purpose of meditation, bodhicitta, the importance of motivation, tong-len and the shortcomings of attachment, among other topics.

Freedom Through Understanding •
Editor's Preface (Nick Ribush) •
1. What is Meditation? (Lama Yeshe) •
2. An Introduction to the Path to Enlightenment (Lama Zopa Rinpoche) •
3. Making the Most of Your Life (Lama Yeshe) •
4. How to Meditate (Lama Yeshe) •
5. The Importance of Motivation (Lama Zopa Rinpoche) •
6. The Lives of Others (Lama Zopa Rinpoche) •
7. Lama Zopa Rinpoche Answers Questions •
8. The Shortcomings of Attachment (Lama Yeshe) •
9. Giving and Taking on the Breath (Lama Yeshe) •
10. Making Life Meaningful (Lama Zopa Rinpoche) •
11. Lama Yeshe Answers Questions •
Glossary and Suggested Further Reading (FTU) •
Translations (Freedom Through Understanding) •
Lama Yeshe, Lama Zopa RInpoche and students at the Third Kopan Meditation Course, Nepal, December 1972. Photo donated by Adele Hulse.
By Kyabje Lama Zopa Rinpoche, Lama Thubten Yeshe in Kopan Monastery, Nepal, 1972-1973

Transcript of teachings given by Lama Yeshe and Lama Zopa Rinpoche at the Third and Fourth Kopan Courses in 1972 and 1973.

Kopan Course Nos 3 & 4 Index Page •
The Mind is Beginningless •
Meditations •
Meditation One: Part I: The Perfect Human Rebirth •
Meditation One: Part II: Impermanence and Death •
Meditation One (conclusion) and Meditation Two (Parts I and II) •
Meditation Two: Part II (conclusion) and Part III •
Meditation Two: Part III (conclusion) and Meditation Three •
Meditation Three (conclusion), Meditation Four, Meditation Five (partial) •
Appendix One: The Eight Mahayana Precepts •
Appendix Two: Lama Yeshe on Ordination •